Established since 1955

Historical Background

The Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), was founded on March 15th 1955 in Lagos, the then Capital City of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The union had some early nationalists with the fire of patriotism and nationalism burning in them and their writings included the first Governor General of Nigeria, the late Owelle of Onitsha, the Rt Hon (Dr.) Nnamdi Azikiwe, the first Premier of the defunct Western Region, the late Chief Obafemi Awolowo, the late Sardauna of Sokoto, Sir Ahmadu Bello and Alhaji Tafawa Balewa; the late Herbert Macaulay and Chief H. O. Davies who with the launch of the Yoruba vernacular newspaper “Iwe Irohin ni Ede Yoruba”, founded by the late Rev. Ajayi Crowther in Abeokuta, in 1929, wrote powerfully, in their newspapers, columns on the need for Nigeria’s self-rule. The NUJ’s birth was linked to the struggle for the independence of Nigeria. The struggle, it would be recalled gave birth to many protest groups, all yearning for the country’s independence from the British. The groups came in various shades.

more about us

Est. Since

> 15000

Members Nationwide

> 85

Executive Members

> 835

Projects Completed

Our Officers

Here are some of the principal officers of Nigeria Union of Journalists.

Chris Isiguzo

National President, NUJ

Shuaibu Usman Leman

National Secretary

Alhassan Yahaya Abdullahi

Deputy National President

Send Us Message